What a Gem

Thoughts to Contemplate by Dr. Luann Robinson Hull

It was a Soulful Weekend…

10 Comments

yoga

Thanks to all who participated in the Immersion weekend offered by Jess Jacobsen and me last weekend in Carbondale, Colorado. We did some inner exploration around our soul’s purpose and how to unlock our limitless potential, and it was exhilarating!  The mixture of lecture and practice turned out to be a winning combination that resonated with our lovely gathering of beautiful souls!

For those of you who couldn’t be there, we spent time together reviewing some of our “inner workings,” looking at why and how we get triggered, which hijacks or log-jams our peace and creative potential.  As neuroscientist Joseph LeDoux points out,

“human consciousness is the way it is because of the way our brains operate…emotions evolved not as conscious feelings, linguistically differentiated or otherwise, but as brain states and bodily responses….(and so)… Where is evolution taking our brain?”

Deutsch: Phrenologie

Deutsch: Phrenologie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As it stands now, we are not very effective at turning off our emotional states once they are triggered. The good news is that it has been proven that through the strengthening of cortical connections to certain areas of our brains, we can begin to condition ourselves to start to step back and take a breath away from our emotional states, reducing the amount of charge these emotions can cause.

That’s great, Luann. But… huh? How do we strengthen those connections in our brains?

We do this by practicing mental focus (another proven fact). There are a plethora of ways that we can engage in these practices, including meditation, yoga, conscious walking, and more.

If you are inclined, please take some time this week to explore how your days are unfolding. Are you taking some time for yourself…I mean just for you?  Do you have a regular time set aside to renew and recharge? Have you considered or are you engaged in a daily meditation practice? Are you exploring your life purpose…and taking some moments to reflect on what you want…how you can serve? Just checkin…

Let’s hold hands and stick together. Believing in you!

Love,

Luann

10 thoughts on “It was a Soulful Weekend…

  1. I absoultely believe it is conditioning whether through your faith or science. Have you noticed the people who always feel they “have to speak their mind” tend to anger and take offense easily? Understanding what triggers your emotions is a huge step forward.

    • Yes, Don’t you find that those who “have to speak their mind” may have a bit of a righteous streak (I have to catch myself on this one!) What meditation and mindfulness training does is to support us in stepping back and taking a breath before we act, giving us a chance to consider what “speaking our mind” will accomplish. Will it be of benefit for all involved, or am I just trying to prove a point? It can be difficult to understand our triggers.. .though if we are just willing to put some space between us and an action…we will likely have a better outcome.

  2. Oh, this is something I need to work on. I tend to get told I’m “too emotional.” To be able to control triggers? What a gift.

    • Yes, I have been told I am emotional as well. Once and emotion fires it is difficult to manage or switch off because of how the trigger for that emotion was conditioned or patterned in our chemistry. Meditation and mindfulness training can help us step back a bit and be the observer of the emotion rather than being swept up in it.

  3. Back in my early twenties, oh so many decades ago, I could seek my inner quiet and find the tranquility to allow my body to recharge. Today? Well, I actually attempted it about a week ago and it was a total loss. To put it into current technology terms – I seemed to lack enough RAM to store that which I need to retain so I could focus on something new. As my ‘teacher’ taught me back in the 60s – Too many are filled with nothing and have no room for inner peace. I now realize I must dump that which I don’t need so I can focus on what is important to me. Personal time is critical to good health.

    • Yes, “personal time is critical to good health” and that you were able to access your inner peace before, even if it was many years ago, means that you still have the memory of how to do that. All you have to do is re-learn how to log in to that awareness again. Meditation and mindfulness training can help.

  4. ahhh. As I am doing this free online meditation with Deepak and Oprah, I’m re-realizing the importance of meditation… especially since I do not practice yoga on a daily basis as I use to. I loved this. Thank you so much!

  5. moi? I don’t react to triggers! I have my chocolate. LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,365 other followers